this issue
previous article in this issuenext article in this issue

Document Details :

Title: Natan Shaham's The Rosendorf Quartet
Subtitle: A Microcosm of the German Jewish Experience
Author(s): SHAVITSKY, Ziva
Journal: Ancient Near Eastern Studies
Volume: 35    Date: 1998   
Pages: 135-144
DOI: 10.2143/ANES.35.0.525775

Abstract :
The Rosendorf Quartet was published in 1987, and later translated by Dalya Bilu. Shaham returns to German Jewry after its depiction in his earlier novel First Person Plural (1968), that portrays the acclimatization of the German immigration into the kibbutz community. The Rosendorf Quartet deals with five exiled German immigrants from Berin, living in Tel Aviv in the 1930s. They are four musicians in the Palestine Philharmonic Orchestra who form a chamber music string quartet, and a German immigrant author. They need to reinvent culture in their land of exile and have to find a new definition of home.

Download article